Monsoon Session

Spokesperson Shri Anand Sharma: He said Monsoon Session is just begun and we have our reservation, we have conveyed that to the Government today in no uncertain terms. This is a sensitive matter irrespective of the recommendations of the Parliamentary Committee which were not unanimous; the Government will have to sit with the Opposition in an effort to reach a consensus before this bill is taken up. Also on the Compensatory Afforestation Act, though it has been through the scrutiny of the Standing Committee, we are not satisfied the manner in which the Bill is drafted. There are issues of the Gram Sabha which Congress Party has raised and we have demanded and advised the Government to take up this Bill only after the Congress Party’s concerns have been fully addressed and the Bill has been amended accordingly.

I have listed the other issues we propose to raise that - the first one - has been taken up is under  discussion i.e. the turbulence and violence in Kashmir, the growing alienation which is a matter of National concern.

Contrary to what was being presented, the Congress Party has since May 2014, after the change of  Government, effectively coordinated with the Opposition in performance of its duties as the principal Opposition Party to raise matters of National interest and concern and hold the Government to account where we feel it is in public interest to do so. The state of India’s economy, the rising unemployment, retrenchment of workers is an issue of grave concern to us. Equally important are matters related to Foreign Policy. Monday, 18th July. 2016

Related Stories

  • Editor

    • Dr Girija Vyas


    • Shri Salman Khursheed
    • Shri Jairam Ramesh


    • Shri Ram Naresh Sinha
    • Shri Rattan Francis


    • Shri Kamal Shahu


    • Congress Sandesh
    • All India Congress Committee
    • 24, Akbar Road
    • New Delhi - 110011
    • Phone: 011 2301 9080 Ext.: 429


    • Shri Motilal Vora
    • Published every month by
      Motilal Vora
      on behalf of Sandesh Trust,
      All India Congress Committee
    • Email: