Silent Dharna against Dalits’ exploitation on Gandhi’s statue

Lucknow: All District units of the Congress Party held ‘Silent’ Dharna at the headquarters in supports of the alleged victims of high-handedness by the BJP government of Gujarat and their relatives, and garlanded the statues of great personalities on 21st July, 2016. In Lucknow, the State president, Shri Raj Babbar, led the dharna in front of Mahatma Gandhi Statue situated at
GPO park. In this dharna, leaders and workers expressed their compassion for the alleged victims and their families. The
dharna took place between 11 and 1 p.m.

After the ‘Maun Dharna’ Congress State Chief Shri Raj Babbar charged that whichever there is a BJP government there have been a flood of atrocities against the Dalits. The way BJP people have subjected Dalits to torture, we are on silent sit in front of Mahatma Gandhi’s Statue. He said that the BJP wanted to get rid of Dalits through ‘Swachch Bharat Abhiyan’. He said that the undignified
remark given by the BJP leaders expose its attitude towards its disdainful attitude the general public and the Dalits.

The prominent people who participated in the sit in include secretaries, Shri Zuber Khan, Rana Goswamy, Shri Prakash Joshi, the vice-presidents, like ex-MP Shri Raja Rampal, Shri Rajesh Mishra, former MLA Bhagwati Prasad Chaudhary and Imran Masood, ex-Minister Ram Krishna Dwivedi and Satyadev Tripathy, MLAs Dr. Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Shri Khilesh Pratap Singh and Smt. Aradhana
Mishra, MLC Shri Dipak Singh, ex-MLC Shri Nasib Pathan, ex-MLA Shri Urish Vajpayee, ex-MLA Vinod Chaudhary and hundreds of senior leaders and workers.

Related Stories

  • Editor

    • Dr Girija Vyas


    • Shri Salman Khursheed
    • Shri Jairam Ramesh


    • Shri Ram Naresh Sinha
    • Shri Rattan Francis


    • Shri Kamal Shahu


    • Congress Sandesh
    • All India Congress Committee
    • 24, Akbar Road
    • New Delhi - 110011
    • Phone: 011 2301 9080 Ext.: 429


    • Shri Motilal Vora
    • Published every month by
      Motilal Vora
      on behalf of Sandesh Trust,
      All India Congress Committee
    • Email: