| |


Press Releases

Shri Ajay Maken

The Congress Party has hit out against the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) for blocking the Five (5) out of Six (6) land mark anti-corruption legislations in the just concluded final session of Parliament. Charging the BJP of devious double speak when it came to taking actual action against corruption, AICC General Secretary and In-charge Communication Department, Shri Ajay Maken wondered whether the BJP had scuttled the five (5) bills under instructions from Shri Narendra Modi, who was scared that once these bills got passed and created an institutional framework against corruption, all his and the BJP's deeds of commission and deliberate omissions will be exposed and the Congress would rightfully run away with the credit of combatting corruption.

Going by his record of consistently trying to stall Lokayukta in Gujarat, giving undue advantages to select Corporate houses and abetting/ shielding convicted Ministers, it is hardly surprising that Shri Modi made the BJP go back on its earlier stand, just to stall this game changing initiative that the Congress Vice President, Shri Rahul Gandhi has been championing, Shri Maken said.

Of the six draft legislations that Shri Gandhi had been pushing for, only the Whistle Blowers' Protection Bill, 2011, could be passed today in the Rajya Sabha. The rest Five (5) Bills were the Judicial Standards and Accountability Bill, 2010, the Right of Citizens for Time Bound Delivery of Goods and Services and Redressal of their Grievances Bill, 2011, the Prevention of Bribery of Foreign Public Officials and Officials of Public International Organizations Bill, 2011, the Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill, 2013 and the Public Procurement Bill, 2012. These bills along with the already operational RTI and Lokpal and Lokayukta Act would have once and for all put into place an institutional mechanism to prevent and fight graft in public life.


Indian National Congress
24, Akbar Road, New Delhi - 110011, INDIA
Tel: 91-11-23019080 | Fax: 91-11-23017047 | Email : connect@inc.in
© 2012–2013 All India Congress Committee. All Rights Reserved.
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Sitemap